希望你的专利申请被即将出版… 再想想!

今天,我收到了问题,从一个独立的发明者像你一样,希望能有出版了他的 专利申请 在几周内. 他还表明,他的发明也可以是作为一个受保护 “商业秘密” (我解释).

良好, 我可能不会提出这个问题,事实上,我已经收到了同样的问题,除了回答.

我认为,发明者是急于看到在通常情况下漫长的专利申请过程中的进步. 公布的专利申请是 “有形” 他们挂到.

如果你不知道我在说什么, 在世界几乎所有国家的专利申请公布 18 (18) 个月后的 “优先日期” (专利申请权利要求以前提交的共同未决的专利申请的申请时的优先级) 全世界的人都看到了专利申请.

本出版物是自动的,除非你 “退出” 提交申请国外专利,专利申请的基础上,在提出专利申请的时间.

通常不会选择退出对未来的外国申请发明人通常要 “他们的选择保持开放” 提交国外申请专利. 例如, 即使发明者知道他/她不有相当大的一笔钱去申请和获得专利的在所有的国家, 他/她知道,有权向外国专利保护是足够的知识 (不选择国外的申请,而不是过早地公开发明) 可能是有经济价值的, 例如说,一个国际化的公司其后沿,将支付 “一掷千金” 如果你的发明,他们仍然可以在市场位于forein国家的申请专利.

这样的国外申请专利 (或专利合作条约“申请 – 与你的专利律师讨论) 通常申请后,在一年的时间内提交最初的专利申请要求优先权的根据巴黎条约“ (非条约的国家必须提交的公开披露前有一个强制执行的专利问题 – 与尤尔专利律师讨论).

发明通常是文件在这些国家,申请国外专利: 1) 要以排挤竞争对手 (i.e. 主要市场为他们的发明 – 包括他们想去的地方许可他人使用其发明; 和 2) 要防止别人制造他们的发明 (例如,. 中国).

选择退出或未能提交之前, “公开披露” 他们的发明 (如产品广告或出版他们的专利申请) 会毁了你的能力得到有效的在不同的国家专利.

另外, 目前和将来的竞争对手可以查看您的专利申请,法律必须包括你的发明作品,最好的办法使其 (的 “最好的模式” 实践你的发明或方法).

您想要的专利覆盖的范围还透露,因为声明 (法律用语,您的发明) 发表. 因此, 你的竞争对手可以得到宝贵的发明有关的竞争信息.

作为一个发明家, 在发布您的应用程序的时候,, 希望你是在一个良好的竞争激烈的商业位置:

1) 提交任何申请国外专利 (或PCT申请) 你的愿望;

2) 一 专利搜索 一个有利的 写专利性意见 (你提交的初步专利申请前完成) 让你有一个合理的想法的保护范围,专利的经济价值会发出; 和 3) 您产品的基础上发明了市场的检验,要么准备或已经在市场上出售 (讨论其带来的后果与你的专利律师).

前,你需要有一个颁发的专利产品营销的基础上你的发明的发明人是一个常见的​​误解. 其实, 你需要与你的专利律师的前期讨论这个问题, 其中包括子问题的:

1) 公开你的发明; 和
2) 侵权 (违反) 一个人的专利.

需要注意的是,即使当你得到一个你的发明专利, 你仍然可以侵犯别人的专利,需要,以dscuss这个问题,你的专利律师.

最后, 有一种叫做 “商业秘密” 这是另一种方式来保护的想法,是不容易 “逆向工程”. 这包括如何让软饮料, 工艺,使产品, 之类的,但超出这篇文章的范围. 这是你应该讨论了与你的专利律师之前提交您最初的专利申请.

这是很难保持商业秘密的秘密,如果你提交的专利申请披露,随后出版了世界上所有的看! 然而, 你可能使用过程中保持作为商业秘密,专利产品. 它的优点是不像专利中,你会得到一个 “垄断” 在一个有限的时间内为你的发明, 只要他们是保密的商业秘​​密.

最好的问候,

布赖恩ŕ. Rayve
业主, InventionPatenting.com

P.S. 您可以锁定在ââ,¬Å“专利pendingââ,¬Â在一个合理的价格,:

http://www.inventionpatenting.com/file_a_patent_application.html

Add to Technorati Favorites

独立发明人 受保护 商业秘密 发明家 专利申请过程中 发表 优先日期 共同未决的专利申请要求优先权 国外专利申请国外申请 专利 国家 文件外国专利公开披露有经济价值的 国际公司 在分工中国家专利 市场 “专利合作条约” 专利律师 最初的专利申请巴黎条约“条约的国家 公开披露 强制执行的专利排挤竞争对手的主要市场许可证发明防止制造 中国 有效的专利申请专利的产品广告发布 国外 竞争对手 如何发明的工作原理的专利覆盖范围的最佳模式 索赔 竞争信息 业务状况 文件申请国外专利 PCT申请 专利民意的保护范围 经济价值 测试产品的基础上发明的市场颁发的专利 产品营销 公开你的发明 侵权专利侵权专利 商业秘密 逆向工程 文件的专利申请专利的产品 过程 垄断 布赖恩布赖恩ŕrayve rayve

2 thoughts on “希望你的专利申请被即将出版… 再想想!

发表评论

Hoping Your Patent Application Gets Published Soon… Think Again!

I received a question today from an independent inventor like yourself who is hoping to have publication of his patent application within few weeks. He also indicates that his invention may be protectable as a “trade secret” (as interpreted by me).

Well, I probably wouldn’t post this question and answer except for the fact that I have received the same question before.

I think that inventors are anxious to see progress in the oftentimes lengthy patenting process. Publication of their patent application is something “tangible” for them to hang onto.

In case you do not know what I am talking about, patent applications filed in virtually any country of the world are published 18 (eighteen) months after the “priority date” (a patent application may claim priority of a previously filed co-pending patent application a the time of filing) of the patent application for the whole world to see.

This publication is automatic unless you “opt out” of filing foreign patent applications based on the patent application at the time of filing the patent application.

Opting out on future foreign filings is usually not done as inventors usually want to “keep their options open” for filing foreign patent applications. For example, even though an inventor knows that he/she does not have the rather large sum of money to file for and get patents in all desired countries, he/she is knowledgeable enough to know that preserving the right to file foreign patents (by not opting out of foreign filings and not prematurely publicly disclosing the invention) might be economically valuable, say for instance an international company subsequently comes along that will pay “big bucks” for your invention if they can still patent it in forein countries where their markets are located.

Such foreign patent applications (or a Patent Cooperation Treaty Application – discuss with your patent attorney) are usually filed within the one year period after filing the initial patent application to claim priority thereof under the Paris Treaty (non-treaty countries must be filed in before a public disclosure to have an enforceable patent issue – discuss with yor patent attorney).

Inventors usually file foreign patent applications in those countries where they: 1) want to exclude competitors (i.e. the main markets for their inventions – including where they want to license their invention; and 2) want to prevent manufacturing of their invention by others (e.g. China).

Opting out or failing to file before a “public disclosure” of their invention (such as product advertising or publication of their patent application) will ruin your ability to get a valid patent in the various foreign countries.

Additionally, present and future competitors can view your patent application which by law must include how your invention works and the best way of making it (the “best mode” or way of practicing your invention).

The scope of your desired patent coverage is also revealed since the claims (legal phraseology of your invention) is published. Therefore, your competitors can get valuable competitive information about your invention.

As an inventor, at the time of publication of your application, hopefully you are in a good competitive business position having:

1) Filed any foreign patent applications (or a PCT application) you desire;

2) A patent search with a favorable written patentability opinion (done before you file your initial patent application) so you have a reasonable idea of the scope of protection and that a patent of economic value will issue; and 3) you have products based on your invention market tested and either ready to sell or already on the market (discuss the ramifications thereof with your patent attorney).

A common misconception by inventors is that you need to have an issued patent before marketing products based on your invention. Actually, you need to discuss this issue with your patent attorney up-front, which includes the sub-issues of:

1) publicly disclosing your invention; and
2) infringing (violating) someone’s patent.

Note that even when you get a patent issued on your invention, you still can infringe someone else’s patent and need to dscuss this issue with your patent attorney.

Finally, there is something called a “trade secret” which is another way to protect ideas that are not easily “reverse engineered”. This includes how to make soft drinks, processes to make products, and the like but is beyond the scope of this post. It is something you should discuss up-front with your patent attorney prior to filing your initial patent application.

It is difficult to keep a trade secret as a secret if you file a patent application disclosing it that is subsequently published for all the world to see! However, you might patent a product made using a process that is kept as a trade secret. The advantage is that unlike patents in which you get a “monopoly” on your invention for a finite period of time, trade secrets last for as long as they are kept secret.

Best regards,

Brian R. Rayve
Owner, InventionPatenting.com

P.S. You can lock in “patent pending” at a reasonable price at:

http://www.inventionpatenting.com/file_a_patent_application.html

Add to Technorati Favorites

independent inventors protectable trade secrets inventors patenting process publication priority date claim priority co-pending patent application foreign patent applications foreign filings patents countries file foreign patents publicly disclose economically valuable international company patent in forein countries markets patent cooperation treaty pct patent attorney initial patent application paris treaty non-treaty countries public disclosure enforceable patent exclude competitors main markets license invention prevent manufacturing china product advertising publication of patent application valid patent foreign countries competitors how invention works best mode scope of patent coverage claims competitive information business position file foreign patent applications pct application patentability opinion scope of protection economic value products based on invention market tested issued patent marketing products publicly disclosing your invention infringing patent infringe patent trade secret reverse engineer file patent application patent a product process monopoly brian r rayve brian rayve

2 thoughts on “Hoping Your Patent Application Gets Published Soon… Think Again!
  1. What’s up, is there anybody else here?
    If it’s not just all bots here, let me know. I’m looking to network
    Oh, and yes I’m a real person LOL.

    Peace,

Leave a Reply