失落发明的笔记本电脑和 “穷人的专利”… 噢,我的!

我最近收到了一个独立的发明者自己面临着一个看似严重的情况下,不知道该怎么办呢.

她已经发明了好几年,保持发明家的笔记本电脑, “穷人的专利” 但错位的他们. 如果你不知道什么是穷人的专利… 是的发明者把写和草图 (所谓的披露) 他们的发明在信封和邮件对自己. 仍然密封的信封邮戳保留的发明者理应提供某种形式的法律保护的发明和发明家.

她担心,她的发明将偷来的人发现笔记本电脑或任何几家公司,最近她送她的发明的披露, 她不再有 “证明” 她发明了他们. 她想知道是否有什么事情,她可以做些什么来保护自己,因为她算的上为自己的未来生活的发明.

我回答她是穷人的专利”都市传说” 是不值钱提供任何保护的发明,他们的发明. 同样, 而她的各种发明的细节,她发明的笔记本是一个很好的提醒, 它没有提供任何保护她或她的发明,因为它没有经过公证或见证.

比较, 发明家应该保持永久绑定的笔记本由发明家的笔记本, 您可以在其中不添加页面,也不能删除它是一个页面被删除的页面,而不. 最好的笔记本电脑是 1/4 英寸厚 8-1/2 通过 11 英寸的页面,可以在任何的大办公用品商店,如钉书针或Office Depot.

做草图, 写的说明, 永久胶的所有照片,你的发明(小号) 页面上的. 每个新的发明使用一个新的页面的开始. 连续编号的页面的底部,并有经过公证的最后一页您所使用的笔记本. 你可以把它在当地银行公证的公证人, 这通常是一个免费服务.

您可以使用剩余的勾勒和描述的发明或改进现有的发明,你拿出笔记本页面. 您的笔记本公证你每次使用你犯了一个重大更新您的笔记本电脑在新的最后一页 (i.e. 当你添加一个新的发明或重大改善现有的发明).

为什么你应该保持一个发明家的笔记本? 良好, 让明确… 它不是一个专利申请和发明是不 “专利申请中”. 比较, 发明家的笔记本电脑有一个严格的限制使用… 作为您的日期,你的发明构思的证据,(小号), 但只有在美利坚合众国 (美国). 这是因为,在美国, 你必须是一个发明者得到有效的专利,如果发生纠纷,谁是第一个发明者, 在中美. 专利局承认的发明人证明,如经过公证的发明者的笔记本电脑 (但不是穷人的专利).

请注意,您不能 “回溯” 您的发明人的笔记型电脑,当你最初的设想发明(小号)… 你只能得到你的发明之日起的概念作为证据公证的日期(小号).

或者公证, 你可以有您的发明者的笔记本签名并注明日期 (见证) 两个人, 最好的人谁没有在你的发明的金钱或其他利益(小号).

最好的问候,

布赖恩ŕ. Rayve
业主, InventionPatenting.com

P.S. 您可以锁定 “专利申请中” 以合理的价格通过提交 临时专利申请.

Add to Technorati Favorites

发明家的笔记本穷人的专利 发明 发明家 发明写发明勾勒项发明 发明 法律保护的发明披露 都市传奇 保护的发明草图发明描述的发明改进现有的发明 新发明 专利申请 专利申请中 日期的概念有效专利第一发明人简介. 专利局的发明人证明构思的发明

2 thoughts on “失落发明的笔记本电脑和 “穷人的专利”… 噢,我的!
  1. 有人告诉我,由中美. 邮局, GOV. 他们说,这是一种方法来保护的想法! 现在,如果中美. 州长. 发出这些的普尔曼令状,所以我被告知,他们被称为, 他们没有很好的为他们摆在首位的原因是什么? 我起诉, 被误导的中美. 州长. 邮局? 和什么有关退款?

发表评论

Lost Inventor’s Notebook and “Poor Man’s Patents”… Oh My!

I recently received a question from an independent inventor like yourself who faced a seemingly serious situation and did not know to do about it.

She has been inventing for several years and kept an inventor’s notebook and “poor man’s patents” but misplaced them. In case you do not know what a poor man’s patent is… that is where the inventor puts a write-up and sketches (called a disclosure) of their invention in an envelope and mails it to herself. The still sealed envelope with postmark is retained by the inventor to supposedly provide some form of legal protection for the invention and inventor.

She is worried that her inventions will be stolen by someone finding the notebook or by any of several companies to which she recently sent disclosures of her inventions, she no longer having “proof” she had invented them. She wonders whether there is anything that she can do to protect herself as she counted on those inventions for her future livelihood.

My reply to her is that the poor man’s patent is an”urban legend” and is worthless in providing any protection for inventors an their inventions. Likewise, while her inventor’s notebook was a good reminder of the details of her various inventions, it provides no protection for her or her inventions since it was not notarized or witnessed.

Rather, inventors should keep an inventor’s notebook made from a permanently bound notebook, the kind in which you cannot add pages nor can you remove pages without it being apparent that a page was removed. The best notebooks are about 1/4 inch thick with 8-1/2 by 11 inch pages available at any of the big office supply stores such as Staples or Office Depot.

Make sketches, write a description, and permanently glue any photos you have taken of your invention(s) on the pages. Use a new page for the start of each new invention. Consecutively number the pages at the bottom and have the notebook notarized on the last page you have used. You can have it notarized at your local bank by a Notary Public, which is usually a free service.

You can use the remaining notebook pages to sketch and describe other inventions or improvements to the existing inventions you come up with. Have your notebook notarized on the new last page you have used every time you make a significant update to your notebook (i.e. when you add a new invention or a significant improvement to an existing invention).

Why you should you keep an inventor’s notebook? Well, lets be clear… it is NOT a patent application and your invention is NOT “patent pending”. Rather, an inventor’s notebook has a strictly limited use… as evidence of your date of conception of your invention(s), but ONLY in the United States of America (USA). That is because in the USA, you must be an inventor to get a valid patent and if there is a dispute as to who is the first inventor, the U.S. Patent Office admits proof of inventorship such as notarized inventor’s notebooks (but not your poor man’s patents).

Note also that you CANNOT “backdate” your inventor’s notebook to when you originally conceived your invention(s)… you only get the date of notarization as evidence of the date of conception of your invention(s).

Alternatively to notarization, you can have your inventor’s notebook signed and dated (witnessed) by TWO people, preferably people who have no monetary or other interest in your invention(s).

Best regards,

Brian R. Rayve
Owner, InventionPatenting.com

P.S. You can lock in “patent pending” at a reasonable price by filing a provisional patent application.

Add to Technorati Favorites

inventor’s notebook poor man’s patents inventing inventors invention write-ups invention sketches invention disclosures inventions legal protection disclosures of inventions urban legends protection for inventors sketch inventions describe inventions improvements to existing inventions new inventions patent applications patent pending date of conception valid patents first inventors u.s. patent office proof of inventorship conceived inventions

2 thoughts on “Lost Inventor’s Notebook and “Poor Man’s Patents”… Oh My!
  1. I was told by the U.S. Post Office, GOV. and they said that it was a way to protect an idea! Now if the U.S. Gov. issued these poorman writs so I was told they were called, and they are no good what is the reason for them in the first place? And can I sue, for being misled by the U.S. Gov. Post office? And what about refunds?

Leave a Reply