你是什​​么 “发明比赛计划”?

我. 介绍

大多数新的发明人不知道该怎么做他们的想法… 这是正确的! 这是新的领土,即使是经验丰富的发明者和公司 “搏斗” 他们的愿望的结果 (例如,尽最大的钱, 捍卫自己目前的产品线, 排除竞争对手的产品线从).

首先, 想想你的目标,你的想法, 后来考虑到的专业知识,你的表 (或有机会). 例如, 试图启动一个制造工厂,生产出的产品根据您的想法可能的领域内的可能性为一个经验丰富的工厂经理或制造工程师, 但不为一般人.

其实, 开始你的第一个公司本身是一个全职工作 (例如,. 联邦和各州的文书工作, 设立公司, 定位业务的位置, 产品设计) 甚至当你有所需的背景. 这是一个采样的决定,你可能根据你的目标或 “残局”.


II. 什么是残局 (i.e. 你要完成什么)?

1. 销售我的想法,我的权利在一家大公司,用它做.

一. 最佳选择:

有一个 专业的专利搜索 专利性意见,并以书面确定: 1) 专利是否是你的想法可能将予发行; 和 2) 的专利问题可能会是多么广阔的覆盖范围 (即. 你的想法可能的值).

文件A 实用新型专利申请 从美国和方法的公司后,收到了第一个办事处行动. 专利和商标局 (美国专利商标局) 这样你就可以显示该公司: 1) 专利,你的想法很可能将予发行; 和 2) 的专利问题可能会是多么广阔的覆盖范围 (即. 你的想法可能的值).

– 一定要讨论的后果 “公开披露” 专利律师和正确使用 “保密/非竞争 (CNC) 在讨论你的想法与任何人或公司协议.

乙. 一个最好的选择:

有一个 专业的专利搜索 完成上述目的.

文件A 临时专利申请 公司的专利意见和方法,这样你就可以显示上述公司.

– 一定要跟进 临时专利申请实用新型专利申请 一年内要求优先权的临时专利申请,以保留其申请日.

– 一定要讨论的后果 “公开披露” 和上述使用的一个CNC协议,专利代理人.

Ç. 一个最好的选择:

文件A 临时专利申请 和方法企业盲目的,不知道你有什么卖.

– 一定要跟进的临时专利申请实用新型专利申请 一年内 临时专利申请,声称优先保留申请日期.

– 一定要讨论的后果 “公开披露” 和上述使用的一个CNC协议,专利代理人.

ð. 一个最好的选择:

法公司盲目的,不知道你有什么卖.

– 一定要讨论的后果 “公开披露” 和上述使用的一个CNC协议,专利代理人.


2. 许可的一个或多个公司,以生产和销售的产品根据我的想法和收集的定期付款 (特许权使用费) 销售的产品的数量和价值的基础上 (加上其他商定的一笔最低特许权使用费).

一. 最佳选择:

有一个 专业的专利搜索 专利性意见,并以书面确定: 1) 专利是否是你的想法可能将予发行; 和 2) 的专利问题可能会是多么广阔的覆盖范围 (即. 你的想法可能的值).

文件A 实用新型专利申请 和方法的公司后,接到通知的津贴,说明你​​的想法,专利会发出.

– 一定要讨论你的专利覆盖你的专利律师. 你应该这样做在整个未决的专利申请,所以你知道它是否值得继续在专利申请过程中).

– 一定要讨论你的想法与市场营销或其他适用行业专家,以确定你的想法在市场上的价值.

– 一定要讨论的后果 “公开披露” 和上述使用的一个CNC协议,专利代理人.


3. 生产 (或已产生) 和自己销售的产品根据我的想法.

一. 的一种选择:

注意 – 当然,你需要的是高度可变的,根据您的业务目标 – 讨论您的特定情况下,专利律师和相应的商务人士:

有一个 专业的专利搜索 专利性意见,并以书面确定: 1) 专利是否是你的想法可能将予发行; 和 2) 的专利问题可能会是多么广阔的覆盖范围 (即. 你的想法可能的值).

文件A 实用新型专利申请 并没有取得任何实质性的金钱投资,直到您收到了第一个办事处,从美国专利商标局采取的行动,使您可以评估: 1) 专利是否是你的想法可能将予发行; 和 2) 的专利问题可能会是多么广阔的覆盖范围 (即. 你的想法可能的值).

– 一定要讨论的后果 “公开披露” 专利律师和正确使用 “保密/非竞争 (CNC) 在讨论你的想法与任何人或公司协议.

乙. 另一种选择:

有一个 专业的专利搜索 完成上述目的.

文件A 临时专利申请 在作出任何重大的金钱投资需谨慎,直到你提交 实用新型专利申请 并收到了第一个办事处从美国专利商标局采取的行动为上述目的. 显着标志的产品根据您的想法 “专利申请” 或 “已申请专利”. 这可能会阻止竞争对手复制你的产品,直到你可以在未来获得专利.

– 一定要跟进 临时专利申请实用新型专利申请 一年内要求优先权的临时专利申请,以保留其申请日.

– 一定要讨论的ramfications “公开披露” 和上述使用的一个CNC协议,专利代理人.

我希望这给你一些想法,对如何进行你的发明商业化和赚钱.

Add to Technorati Favorites

本发明的游戏计划 发明家 维护产品线排除竞争对手的新产品线的目标,你的想法 制造工厂 生产出的产品 工厂经理 开始公司的的联邦文书工作状态文书设立公司 经营地点 产品设计 比赛结束 残局 专业的专利搜索 专利搜索 专利民意专利发出的想法实用新型专利申请实用新型专利的专利价值的覆盖面 专利申请 专利 专利问题 公开披露 专利律师 保密/非竞争协议,保密协议,非竞争协议,临时专利申请理赔优先级的临时专利申请日期的方法企业盲目要求优先权许可证企业生产的产品 销售产品 定期付款, 特许权使用费 number of products sold value of products sold lump sum payments minimum royalty payments written patentability opinion patent your idea 专利问题 value of idea file a patent application notice of allowance 专利律师 专利申请 patenting process discuss your idea marketing specialist value of idea produce products have products produced 销售产品 business goals business professionals value of your idea money investments 专利申请中 申请专利阻止竞争对手复制产品赚钱,从发明的发明商业化

One thought on “你是什​​么 “发明比赛计划”?

发表评论

What Is Your “Invention Game Plan”?

I. Introduction

Most new inventors have no idea what to do with their idea… and rightly so! It is new territory that even experienced inventors and companies “wrestle with” to produce their desire outcome (e.g make maximum money, defend their current product line, preclude a product line from competitors).

First of all, think about your goal for your idea, then take into account the expertise you bring to the table (or have access to). For example, trying to start a manufacturing facility to produce products based on your idea might be within the realm of possibilities for a seasoned plant manager or manufacturing engineer, but not for the average person.

In fact, starting your first company is a full-time job in itself (e.g. federal and state paperwork, setting up corporation, locating a business location, having products designed) even when you have the requisite background. Here is a sampling of decisions you might make based on your goals or “endgame”.


II. What is your endgame (i.e. What are you trying to accomplish)?

1. Sell all of my rights in my idea to a big company and be done with it.

A. Best Choice:

Have a professional patent search done with written patentability opinion to determine: 1) whether a patent is likely to be issued on your idea; and 2) how broad the coverage of the patent that issues will likely be (ie. the likely value of your idea).

File a utility patent application and approach companies after you have received a first Office Action from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) so you can show the companies: 1) that a patent is likely to be issued on your idea; and 2) how broad the coverage of the patent that issues will likely be (ie. the likely value of your idea).

– Be sure to discuss the ramifications of “public disclosure” with a patent attorney and the proper use of a “confidentiality/non-compete (CNC) agreement before discussing your idea with any person or company.

B. Next Best Choice:

Have a professional patent search done for the purposes described above.

File a provisional patent application and approach companies with the patentability opinion in-hand so you can show the companies as described above.

– Be sure to follow up the provisional patent application with a utility patent application within one year that claims priority of the provisional patent application to retain its filing date.

– Be sure to discuss the ramifications of “public disclosure” and use of a CNC agreement with a patent attorney as described above.

C. Next Best Choice:

File a provisional patent application and approach companies blind not knowing what you have to sell.

– Be sure to follow up the provisional patent application with a utility patent application within one year that claims priority of the provisional patent application to retain its filing date.

– Be sure to discuss the ramifications of “public disclosure” and use of a CNC agreement with a patent attorney as described above.

D. Next Best Choice:

Approach companies blind not knowing what you have to sell.

– Be sure to discuss the ramifications of “public disclosure” and use of a CNC agreement with a patent attorney as described above.


2. License one or more companies to produce and sell products based on my idea and collect periodic payments (royalties) based on the number and value of the products sold (plus other negotiated lump sum and minimum royalty payments).

A. Best Choice:

Have a professional patent search done with written patentability opinion to determine: 1) whether a patent is likely to be issued on your idea; and 2) how broad the coverage of the patent that issues will likely be (ie. the likely value of your idea).

File a utility patent application and approach companies after you have received a Notice of Allowance stating that a patent will issue on your idea.

– Be sure to discuss the coverage of your patent your patent attorney. You should do this through the entire pendency of your patent application so you know whether it is worthwhile to continue the patenting process).

– Be sure to discuss your idea with a marketing or other specialist in the applicable industry to determine the value of your idea in the marketplace.

– Be sure to discuss the ramifications of “public disclosure” and use of a CNC agreement with a patent attorney as described above.


3. Produce (or have produced) and sell products myself based on my idea.

A. One Choice:

Note – the course you take is highly variable based on your business goals – discuss your particular circumstances with a patent attorney and the appropriate business professionals:

Have a professional patent search done with written patentability opinion to determine: 1) whether a patent is likely to be issued on your idea; and 2) how broad the coverage of the patent that issues will likely be (ie. the likely value of your idea).

File a utility patent application and do not make any substantial money investments until you received a first Office Action from the USPTO so you can evaluate: 1) whether a patent is likely to be issued on your idea; and 2) how broad the coverage of the patent that issues will likely be (ie. the likely value of your idea).

– Be sure to discuss the ramifications of “public disclosure” with a patent attorney and the proper use of a “confidentiality/non-compete (CNC) agreement before discussing your idea with any person or company.

B. Another Choice:

Have a professional patent search done for the purposes described above.

File a provisional patent application and be cautious in making any substantial money investments until you file a utility patent application and have received a first Office Action from the USPTO for the purposes described above. Prominently mark products based on your idea “Patent Pending” or “Patent Applied For”. This may discourage competitors from copying your product until you may obtain a patent in the future.

– Be sure to follow up the provisional patent application with a utility patent application within one year that claims priority of the provisional patent application to retain its filing date.

– Be sure to discuss the ramfications of “public disclosure” and use of a CNC agreement with a patent attorney as described above.

I hope this gives you some ideas on how to proceed with commercializing and making money from your invention.

Add to Technorati Favorites

invention game plan inventors defend product line preclude competitors new product line goals for your idea manufacturing facility produce products plant manager starting company federal paperwork state paperwork setting up corporation business location products designed end game endgame professional patent search patent search patentability opinion patent issued coverage of patent value of idea utility patent applications utility patents patent applications patents patent issues public disclosure patent attorney confidentiality/non-compete agreement confidentiality agreement non-compete agreement provisional patent applications claims priority provisional patents filing date approach companies blind claim priority license companies produce products sell products periodic payments royalties number of products sold value of products sold lump sum payments minimum royalty payments written patentability opinion patent your idea patent issues value of idea file a patent application notice of allowance patent attorney patent applications patenting process discuss your idea marketing specialist value of idea produce products have products produced sell products business goals business professionals value of your idea money investments patent pending patent applied for discourage competitors copying product commercializing inventions making money from invention

One thought on “What Is Your “Invention Game Plan”?

Leave a Reply